The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) is pleased to announce its annual award winners, accepting virtually, during its 74th Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase on December 11, 2020. “Despite the global challenges faced by us all this past year, I am honored to recognize these outstanding achievements in cosmetic science and contributions that our members make to society,” said Mindy Goldstein, PhD, 2020 SCC President and President of Mindy S. Goldstein, PhD Consulting. “Congratulations to these winners who join a prestigious list of accomplished professionals being recognized by their peers for their outstanding work.”

Dr. Nava Dayan SCC Award

Nava Dayan, PhD

FLORENCE WALL WOMEN IN COSMETIC CHEMISTRY AWARD": Dr. Nava Dayan, a consultant specializing in skin care product innovation, efficacy claims, safety assessment and more, understands the importance of innovative ideas, education, mentoring and service to others,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Executive Director/CEO of the Society.  “Nava is representative of the stellar women in this industry who have made significant contributions while serving as an example of leadership and passion for future generations.”

Howard Epstein

Howard A. Epstein, PhD, Director of Technical Services at EMD Performance Materials

MAISON G. DENAVARRE MEDAL AWARD: Howard Epstein is recognized and well respected by professionals in the cosmetic and personal care industry for his outstanding technical contributions in functional skin care technologies,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Executive Director/CEO of the Society.  “Howard has been on stage or in a classroom providing education to colleagues for the past decade. He is a renowned researcher and expert in skin product development and a deserved recipient of the Society’s highest award.”

Martha Tate

Martha Tate, PhD (Tate Science)

MERIT AWARD: “Martha Tate, PhD (Tate Science) has been an engaged and contributing member since the day she joined SCC,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Executive Director/CEO of the Society.  “We are delighted to present the Merit Award for her numerous contributions during her nearly 30-year membership, including lecturing at various education events, serving on the education advisory committee, volunteering countless hours of her time, and much more toward the advancement of cosmetic science.”

YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD, sponsored by Surfatech: Recognizing the best paper by a young scientist under the age of 40 (for a podium lecture at the preceding Annual Scientific Meeting), this award will be presented to Lex Pelger (CV Sciences) for his paper entitled, ‘CBD, GRAS & The Largest Organ’.

GREEN STAR™ AWARD sponsored by Colonial Chemical: Recognizing the formulator who has done outstanding work in green formulations during the previous 12-month period, this award will be presented to Samantha Guertin (Aveda) for her Botanical Repair Strengthening Leave-In Treatment. 

SOCIETY OF COSMETIC CHEMISTS AWARD, sponsored by Hallstar: Recognizing the best paper (presented at the preceding SCC Annual Scientific Meeting) that made the greatest scientific contribution to knowledge in the field of protecting against or ameliorating damage to human skin caused by exposure to UV radiation, this award will be presented to Juan Brito (BASF Corporation) for his paper entitled, ‘Formulating with Zinc Oxide’

HANS A. SCHAEFFER AWARD, sponsored by Lonza: Recognizing the most innovative paper (presented at the preceding SCC Annual Scientific Meeting), this award will be presented to Philip Ludwig (BASF Corporation) for his paper entitled, ‘Quorum Quenching: The New Way to Keep Microbiome Under Control’.

JOSEPH P. CIAUDELLI AWARD, sponsored by CrodaRecognizing the best article (published in the Journal of Cosmetic Science or presented at the preceding SCC Annual Scientific Meeting) on the subject of hair care technology, this award will be presented to Manuel Gamez-Garcia, PhD (Ashland Specialty Ingredients) for his paper entitled, ‘Protein and Cellular Structures Stabilizing the Shape of Curly and Textured Hair: A Finite Element Analysis’.

SHAW MUDGE AWARD, sponsored by the Mudge Family: Recognizing the best paper presented at the preceding SCC Annual Scientific Meeting, this award will be presented to Anna Langerveld, PhD (Genemarkers) for her paper entitled, ‘CBD: Next Big Thing in Skincare’.

DES GODDARD AWARD: Recognizing the most innovative paper on the topic of polymer science related to cosmetics or personal care (presented at the preceding Annual Scientific Meeting or published in the Journal of Cosmetic Science)this award will be presented to Hy Si Bui, PhD (L'Oréal USA) for his paper entitled, ‘Physical Chemistry of Long-Lasting Color Cosmetics.

Watch these winners accept their awards during the SCC’s first-ever virtual Annual Meeting, December 7-11, 2020.  Register here:

About SCC:

Founded in 1945 and now celebrating its 75th Anniversary, the SCC is the oldest and largest non-profit membership organization serving the cosmetics and personal care industry.  Dedicated to the advancement of cosmetic science, SCC headquarters provides unparalleled education, resources, and networking for nearly 6,000 members globally and via 19 chapters across Greater North America. Visit for more information.  

Zrzut ekranu 2020 06 23 o 11.17.22

Back to top

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.